A Room for Big Ideas

Hello! Recently, I visited YBCA(Yerba Buena Center of the Arts) to check out their exhibit Conceiving Place. Did you know, the first Tuesday of each month for YBCA is free admission! Wow!

Before my visit, I did some research on the topic of the exhibition, Civic Engagement. To me, Civic Engagement is actions (one’s or a group’s) to recognize issues and make changes. I’m not sure if I have really experienced a type before but I’ve seen it take place like projects to help a community.

During my visit, I took 5 photos within 5 categories. 

1.      Something that makes you smile

This made me smile because it’s full of color and it looks almost like a collage and I love collages! I liked how the pictures are angled and some overlaps others.

2.      Something that frustrates you

I was confused when I saw this because I couldn’t piece together what it was. I looked for a label but I couldn’t find one for it. I felt frustrated that I couldn’t understand it.

3.      Something that relates to your work at the Asian Art Museum.

This wall is a space filled with many people’s ideas. It’s a hands-on space with comfortable seating for idea brainstorming. I love how it’s a collection of thoughts and its community building. At the museum, we also have a place for visitors to get creative with their ideas with our art activities. Recently, we have a “box project” that’s inspired by the 28 Chinese exhibit and we pulled out some themes of recycling and repurposing materials. Many visitors have participated in our activities and created unique boxes. Although many did take their cool art with them, some left them with us. We took them and displayed it in a space for other visitors to check out!

4.      Something that makes you question your understanding of Civic Engagement

This made me question my understanding of Civic Engagement. This is part of a research project called “Journey to Refuge” which explores neighborhoods that’s affected by prisons and incarcerations. I have not though about Civic Engagement in this point of view. I do feel that my understanding of Civic Engagement is limited but after seeing this, I realized Civic Engagement can take many forms.

 5.      Something you want to learn more about

This is also part of “Journey to Refuge”. I was really intrigued by this collection by the way it appears to visitors. Headphones are provided to listen to the videos. There are books and binders of information. I want to learn more about this project and what was discovered from it.

I enjoyed my visit to YBCA. The exhibit was fairly easy to find as it was near the entrance of the museum. The bright yellow color caught my attention and is definitely an eye catching color. Overall, Conceiving Place was really unique exhibit and you should definitely go check it out!(First Tuesdays of the month is Free Admission!)

-Ivy