Ai Weiwei @Large Reflection

I had such a wonderful time on Sunday. Thank you all for making it extra special! I had also never been to Alcatraz before so it was an interesting experience both seeing the art and the prison for the first time. I thought the exhibit used the space well both to contrast freedom with confinement and to catalyze a dialogue about this juxtaposition. One of my favorite pieces was Refraction, the big bird wing made from Tibetan solar stoves. This piece in particular used the space in a way that was almost frustrating for the viewer, which I think was kind of the point (to feel confined). I also thought the exhibit was successful in making cross cultural, cross nation connections, like comparing the Tibetan Buddhist chant with the Hopi song. Overall, the artwork was beautiful but above all, thought provoking.

-Natalie