YBCA: Conceiving Place, a special exhibition

Hellooooo! I'm new here haha. So just recently I went to the Yerba Buena Center of the Arts for their exhibition , Conceiving Place. Before my visit, I did research on what civic engagement was. 

According to google, "Civic engagement refers to the ways in which citizens participate in the life of a community in order to improve conditions for others or to help shape the community's future. This term has been used to date primarily in the context of younger people." (http://jtd.sagepub.com/content/3/3/236.abstract). Civic engagement to me means being involved in a community to make a difference in any way possible. I've done a lot of civic engagement before because I;m trying to make a career out of it. I'm really passionate about social justice work. I was advocating in the LGBTQ community last year for equal rights, teaching health issues at my school, and even more!

During my visit, I was really interested in the exhibition. The way it was set up was as if it was a walk-in office which was really cool. Here are some pics that I took:

Something that makes you smile- This made me smile because it showed how even though we are so tiny on this earth, we are still just as important.

Something that makes you question your understanding of Civic Engagement- The whole exhibit questioned my understanding of civic engagement because I always saw civic engagement as going out physically to help others.

Something that frustrates you- This frustrated me because although we just legalized same-sex marriage, we still have so many issues to address to regain justice for everyone.

Something that relates to your work at the Asian Art Museum- This installation was showing the process of being a citizen or just someone belonging into a community. It really reminded me of a installation we have at our museum called "Buy Everything On You." Theirs had opinions of other peoples about the work which reminded me of how we presented "Buy Everything On You" to others from our perspective and give our opinions which is what we do at the museum: interpreting art.

Something that you want to learn more about- I was really interested in the process of becoming a citizen or being accepted and how different the stories were. At the YBCA it showed different perspectives of acceptance which got me curious about it.

At the end, my views on civic engagement has changed to be more open. Civic engagement does not have to be going out making a change by protesting or rebelling against norms, but civic engagement can also be a group of different people collectively thinking from different perspectives about a particular topic. People from all over can express themselves which is a form of civic engagement. I love this new concept of it!

-Teresa Lam